The Gift and The Curse: Two Sides of a Coin (Part 1)

image

I pride myself on being uber talented. At least in my own mind sha. Yes yes yes; You’re allowed to disagree with and yimu at me. Free speech after all is for the living.😸

That I have  potential is not in doubt.(continue to yimu o shogbo. I assure you that nose will soon fall off 😒) In fact, that is not the problem. The problem is utility. What to be? Lawyer? Activist? Writer? Journalist? Poet? Dramatist? (I know I know I know. Jack of all trades, master of none) I mean, the list is endless if you get my drift.

Being multi talented is both a gift and a curse.(and by gift and curse, I don’t mean Jay Z’s Blueprint album o…). A gift in the sense that you have the potential and  the aptitude to excel in multiple fields; You’re like the ultimate cheat code in Grand Theft Auto and the world is yours to conquer.

Shey you have watched spiderman? Particularly part 1? (hmm I know you wii wanto lie nau🙍😽). You remember where uncle Ben told Peter that with great power, comes great responsibility, that exactly is how this is. With all that awesomeness comes the “curse” The chink in the armour, the Achilles heel, the other side of the coin.

Wo, if you don’t know, lemme tell you now.  The gift wii make your head swell. You will feel like you have arrived. you will start to lack the drive and the motivation to achieve. You will no longer put in the effort. You will assume everything will fall in place just like that, just because you’re good. Your genius will become tainted with laxity and indifference and you will stop to shine.

Procrastination, Complacency, indecision. ( don’t worry; I wii stop here because u wii say it’s too long now, but some things are yet to be said).

One thought on “The Gift and The Curse: Two Sides of a Coin (Part 1)

  1. 👏👏👏👏👏👏

    Well, have you considered doing…. Everything?

    Forget that Jack of all trades, master of none bullshit. I know. I also have such doubts sometimes. So you should listen when I say you should not worry about that. It’s just an excuse you use to justify the chinks in your Armour. Your archilles heel… You know the ones na. The ones you said were too long to be mentioned in this post 😂

    Wole Soyinka. Writer. Poet. Activist. Professor.

    Gani fawehinmi. Lawyer. Activist. Publisher of Law Reports. Writer.

    And let’s not forget our own falz. Lawyer. Actor. Rapper. Comedian extraordinaire.

    You might say they are all in the same line. Well, your own strengths are not that far apart now are they?

    The moral lesson? Find the perfect blend. Of everything. That gives you maximum value. And by value, I really mean financially translatable value. Of course, let’s not forget the whole happiness and fulfillment kind of value bullcrap 🙈😂😂😂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

