‘I’m not Crying…’ 

For Rinmola, who blew away like a candle in the wind… 

I’m not crying Rim Rim,
I’m not crying.
And these you ask?
No, these; these are not tears in my eyes
it’s just been raining on my face.

Like a candle in the wind,
you blew away on an ojo

ti ebi n’pa ona.

I want to write you a dirge
but I find no expression,
I want to write you a tribute
but the words, the words they refuse to trickle.

And still, I find myself unable to accept you’re gone,
and still I find myself unable to accept the finality of your passing.
I keep hoping I’ll wake up from this bad dream
and we’ll pick up the banting
from where we left off.

And no Rinmola,
I’m not crying.
And these, these are not tears in my eyes
they’re just a lil bit sweaty that’s all.
For I know you’ve gone ahead to a better place
where even the Angels will concur
when you dazzle them with your wit wipe
Ha… Alejo wo’run.

So Rim Rim, I’m not crying.
And these are not tears in my eyes
for I know you gone ahead to a better place
a dwelling in the presence of the Lord.

2 thoughts on “‘I’m not Crying…’ 

Leave a Reply

